The Library – 5 reasons I re-joined

I read a lot and over the years have spent a small fortune buying books.  I always resisted the library because it seemed inconvenient. I will chalk this resistance up to pure laziness or perhaps just pure busy-ness.  I also blame Amazon by pointing out they have  made buying books so easy I was lulled into this habit. I  just had to type a few letters into the search engine and the book magically arrived.

As I bought these books I favored the hard copy of books for two reasons.  First, I have this image of my home lined with cherished books that friends and family pull off the shelves as we banter about our favorite literature.  Sadly, this never happens.   Second, as a longtime retail professional, I  like a good deal. Amazon drives me crazy because they price the ebooks at only a dollar less than the hard copy.

I started getting signals to make a change.  My book clubs started planning books for 6 months at a time.  I have also been in a “de-clutter mode” following the loss of my father in law and the trauma of dealing with all of his possessions.  These two factors got me motivated to give the library another try.  So without further adieu here are my top 5 reasons to re-join the library.

  1.  It helps reduce clutter.   I love owning my favorite books, but there are many painful reminders in my home of books I did not like, books I could not finish, or the worst – books I never even started.
  2. It’s a great way to try out new books without any commitment.  Try it, start it or not- it still goes back with the others in the stack.
  3. The library gives you a due date which to me is a deadline.  This gives me motivation to finish.  I always work better under a deadline, I mean who doesn’t?
  4. I am saving money.  I think that means a bigger allowance for my shoe and coffee habit!
  5. I like getting out and seeing the people who live in my community and not just the other parents of 9th graders!  I have enjoyed browsing and visiting my library to get a better sense of who else lives in the community.

So there you have it.  I’m hooked and now it’s in print.  I’m a library lady.

About Anne Loughrey

I am an avid member of several book clubs and a prolific keeper of my books. I love to discuss books and hear what others think of books I have read.
This entry was posted in book clubs, Library. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

