My summer reading list…

I usually read more when I spend time on airplanes.  This summer I was lucky enough to travel to Europe and so I have read 5 books so far this summer.  All of these books were very entertaining and of a high quality making them hard to rank. But here goes:

  1.  “The Life we Bury” a first time novel by Minnesota writer Allen Eskens. This is a love story AND a crime thriller about a young U of M student, Joe, who meets an interesting old man while completing a college creative writing assignment.  Many years before, the old man was convicted of murdering his 14 year old neighbor girl but as Joe does his research he learns there is much more to this story. I am thrilled that Allen will be at my book club later this month.
  2. “The Nest” by Cynthia Sweeney is about four siblings who are expecting an inheritance with the youngest turns 40.  Their plans are stalled when their oldest brother gets into trouble and their mother blows “the nest” to bail him out.  The book is very funny and examines the serious issue of family money and how NOT to act when you are fortunate enough to get some.
  3. “The Girl you left Behind” by Jojo Moyes is a novel about a French woman who was the subject of a painting by her husband right before WWI.  Her husband is sent to the war and the French woman trades the painting to a German soldier in a plea bargain for her husbands life.  Flash forward to modern times:  a young man buys this same painting for his wife and it is later found out to be valuable piece of art and a battle for it’s ownership ensues.
  4. “My name is Lucy Barton” by Elizabeth Strout.  Lucy falls ill and looks back on her life in an intimate and honest way with a keen view of human behavior.  While nothing much really happens in this book, I found her musings very interesting and promoted my own self reflection. Lucy is a very likable character and the book is interesting and easy to read.
  5. “Eligible – a modern re-telling of Pride and Prejudice” by Curtis Sittenfeld.  This book doesn’t deserve to be at the bottom of any list, except for the strong competition. For me, I would have enjoyed it more if I took the time to read the original work along with the re-telling.  As luck would have it, I did find a cheap copy and read a few chapters just after finishing the book which made me appreciate it more.  In the modern version the girls are much like the Kardashian’s which made it interesting but a little far fetched which is why it’s down here at the bottom.

I’ve got a few weeks left in summer and a few more good books on my list!

About Anne Loughrey

I am an avid member of several book clubs and a prolific keeper of my books. I love to discuss books and hear what others think of books I have read.
This entry was posted in books. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My summer reading list…

  1. That’s a great list. I have Lucy Barton in my TBR list. The Life We Bury sounds interesting.

  2. Bill Eickhoff says:

    Fun to stumble upon this excellent blog!! Hope you’re doing well.

Leave a Reply

