These are a few of my favorite things…

In December, we all get a little reflective.  Lots happened this year, big things like my father in law passing away and little victories like making it through a whole year without visiting  Tria.  So in honor of it being “that time of year” here is a look back at a few of my favorite things from 2015.

  1.   Snapchat.  Yep, you heard me.  Now don’t get me wrong, I still LOVE Facebook, however, my new favorite social media is snapchat.  Here’s why:  nobody really follows me, so I can put all kinds of pictures on my “story” without worrying about how I look.  Nobody can comment and the pictures magically disappear in 24 hours.  An added benefit is that my snapchat friends (which DO include my children), post fun pictures on THEIR story so I “kind of” know what they are doing.  This had allowed me a little peak into the day to day lives of my kids.  For some reason, seeing their pictures, especially the occasional picture of them working out or studying, makes me happy.  Yes, my parental bar has officially been lowered.
  2. Quitting Weight Watchers.  Did I actually write that?  I am now fearful that I will gain 10 pounds the minute I hit “publish” on this blog.  But after years, no DECADES, of obsessing about my weight I think I have finally found a healthy balance of diet and exercise that has allowed me to just live my life without having to track and count and worry about every little thing I put in my mouth.  If I am being totally honest, I will say that I have transferred my obsessive worry about my weight to my new obsession, the WRINKLES that greet me every time I take a selfie.  Oh well, at least it’s a NEW obsession and I am no longer trying to stay under 26 points every day.
  3. The clubs and organizations I belong to.  While my membership in most of these clubs is not new, my appreciation for them is. Thank goodness for my 3 books clubs, the traveling basketball board, Shannon’s travel basketball teams, and my group fitness friends.  Without them I don’t think I would have much of a social life.  I was starting to worry about my meager social life.  Like maybe all my college girlfriends are all getting together without me?  But after spending some time catching up with some of my pals recently, I realized they aren’t excluding me, they are all worried about THEIR meager social lives as well!
  4. So here’s to a new year and a new decade.  And new things to obsess over.  And join.  And discover!
About Anne Loughrey

I am an avid member of several book clubs and a prolific keeper of my books. I love to discuss books and hear what others think of books I have read.
This entry was posted in Book clubs, Unbroken, Louis Zamperini, Laura Hillenbrand. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

