Guest Post: Erin Loughrey – “Me and Earl and the Dying Girl” by Jesse Andrews

One of the things that you may not know about me is that I have a mom who LOVES to read.  And since I love to read and write – I mean after all I am a communications major, I finally get to “guest blog” for her!

Of the popular “teen/young adult” novels that I have recent read, one of my favorites was “Me and Earl and the Dying Girl” by Jesse Andrews.  First, this is not just a book for teens/young adults.  I’m in the process of convincing my mom to read it because it is unique and cool.  Also it was turned into a motion picture that was released in theaters on June 12.  As you might have guessed, I am the type of person that TRIES to read to book before seeing the movie.  I guess the apple did not fall far from the tree!

The story follows the main character, Greg and his coworker Earl.  They produce films, and this film is about their journey to make a movie for their friend Rachel – who was diagnosed with cancer.  I read this book in two days, I could not put it down.  The writing was refreshing and conversational.  The story itself was touching and a story of friendship through a battle with cancer in a nontraditional story.  The narrator talks about how he doesn’t understand how to deal with the concept of death which is something I think we can all relate to.

That being said, I was fixated on the ending of this book.  I mean how could it end if Greg does not end up with Rachel?  (I am not giving anything away by saying this, Greg tells the reader that this is not a love story multiple times.)  I have to say that this is one of the more unique books I have read and I am looking forward to seeing the film.  The style is so different and it is just under 300 pages so if you read it and don’t like it at least it wasn’t 600 pages or anything like that!

Another element of the story that I could not figure out was the relationship between Earl and Greg who define each other as “co-workers.”  I think there is something to be said about how they interact with each other and grow throughout the book.  By the end, they made me want to hang out and have some Chinese food with them and talk about life.  With all of the popular John Greene books that are turning into movies, I think this one is slightly similar but stands out as being less romantic and more about real life stuff.

I think many adults are uninterested in the books that flank the shelves in the category of “young adult” but I am here to tell you there is hope.  One of the ways that I differ in my selection of literary materials compared to my mom is that I can’t digest deep, serious books that often and especially during the summer.  So save the deep stuff for the fall or winter when you are cuddled up on your couch by the fireplace sipping hot chocolate.  If you have some time on the beach this would be a good one to try because the chapters are short and the paragraph/bullet points/script writing make this book extremely easy to read.

Well that does it for me.  Let me or my mom know what you think about this book or this post.  Maybe if you think I did good, she will let me blog again?  I hope you give “Me and Earl and the Dying Girl” a chance even though it’s “young adult.”  Until next time!  Happy reading blog friends!

About Anne Loughrey

I am an avid member of several book clubs and a prolific keeper of my books. I love to discuss books and hear what others think of books I have read.
This entry was posted in book clubs. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Guest Post: Erin Loughrey – “Me and Earl and the Dying Girl” by Jesse Andrews

  1. Barb denman says:

    You did GREAT Erin! Keep reading, and keep blogging 😍

  2. Mary Lou Olson says:

    Great blog, Erin. I’m so proud of you. Love, G’ma ML

Leave a Reply

