A Truman Capote Binge: “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” and “In Cold Blood”

I have a new favorite source of news:  “The Skimm.” It’s a daily news email that is consolidated in a way that is witty, intelligent and cutting edge.  It is written by two up and coming young women, Carly and Danielle who mix in news that range from the ultra serious to such flip and fun topics as who is the best dressed at the Oscars.

As an added bonus, the “Skimm girls” (as I like to think of them) also make occasional book recommendations. They recently recommended the compact little novel written by Truman Capote “Breakfast at Tiffany’s.” I realized that if I HAD ever read the book, I couldn’t remember one thing about it. In their recommendation they disclosed that it is only 89 pages, so I followed their link to Amazon.com and bought it on the spot. (Brilliant they are with all their links and extra reading guides.)

It only took a few hours to read and while the writing was good I wasn’t overly enthralled with the story.  In this case I am told the movie is actually better than the book.  I am glad I invested the little bit to read this little classic because it got me to thinking about the author, Truman Capote.

My friend and fellow avid book reader, Gary, has been raving about “In Cold Blood”, also written by Truman, for a couple of years now.  So after reading “Breakfast”, I decided to tackle it.

At first I was nervous because I do not like horror books or really anything that scares me.  And I did know the general story line which is SCARY!  An entire Kansas family killed in their own home in a botched robbery.

I was very pleased that the book did not follow the typical horror genre at all and in fact was a factual account of both the victims and the criminals.  The book was very easy to read and actually quite enjoyable.

During this time, I also learned quite a bit about Truman Capote.  I learned that he was best friends with Harper Lee, who wrote “To Kill a Mockingbird” and that he put a great deal of time and effort into this book.  This was an unusual genre for him as evidenced by my earlier read of “Breakfast at Tiffany’s” plus a long list of other short stories, novels and novellas he authored during his long career.

“In Cold Blood” was a commercial success and remains the second best selling true crime book behind “Helter Skelter” written about the Manson murders.  It was also Truman’s last book.  It was said that the intensity of this book was difficult for him to move beyond.

So I want to thank my twenty something “Skimm girlfriends” for pointing me in a new direction.  Because of them I get my witty, daily news consolidation every morning and I also got the chance to read some diverse works of Truman Capote.

About Anne Loughrey

I am an avid member of several book clubs and a prolific keeper of my books. I love to discuss books and hear what others think of books I have read.
This entry was posted in Book clubs, Unbroken, Louis Zamperini, Laura Hillenbrand. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

