“The Girl on the Train” by Paula Hawkins

I try to stay up to date on what’s hot when it comes to “book club books”, so when I heard that Paula Hawkins debut novel  “The Girl on the Train” was being compared to “Gone Girl” I jumped on the bandwagon.

The premise is intriguing;  a female commuter becomes obsessed with a beautiful couple she idealizes.  She watches them every day and makes up in her head the story of their life until one day she witnesses a suspicious man who visits the wife.  On that same day the wife goes missing.

Trying to be helpful, she goes to the police to share this information, however our girl is a drinker and her life is in shambles.  The police quickly rule her out as a reliable witness. This does not stop her from remaining involved with the main characters in the story even though as readers we want to tell her to GET AWAY.

There are side plots and other elements to the story, however, in my opinion the main premise wasn’t all that interesting.  The writing was good and she developed her characters well, but in the end I didn’t think it was worthy of all the hype.

It appears that I am alone in my opinion of this book since it is now the number one novel on the book lists and has stayed there for the last 9 weeks.  It is also being made into a movie. Maybe in this case the movie will be better than the book?  In my humble opinion that won’t be all that hard to do.  That said, I would still recommend reading it since  it will surely be the beach book of the summer.

About Anne Loughrey

I am an avid member of several book clubs and a prolific keeper of my books. I love to discuss books and hear what others think of books I have read.
This entry was posted in Book clubs, Unbroken, Louis Zamperini, Laura Hillenbrand. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

