What to read on spring break? Alice, Alice, Alice

A few of my lucky girlfriends are already leaving on spring break and have asked for book recommendations. With my poor short term memory I did what I always do:  told them to read my blog.

Yet as I thought about this some more, I decided to do some homework for those of you who like to read on vacation, but don’t get the opportunity to read much more than that.  And I realized that this year it’s all about Alice.

I recommend two books about Alice’s, both by different authors, both are about forgetting something, both are being made into movies and both of them are entertaining and well written.

The first, “Still  Alice” was Lisa Genova’s debut novel that turned into a smash hit and a blockbuster movie.  Dr. Alice Howland is a successful 50 year old professor who realizes she is having a hard time remembering things and turns out is suffering from early onset Alzheimer’s disease.  I read the book when it first came out in 2007 and from what I can remember (yes, that was meant to be funny), it was thought provoking and engaging.

If it sounds familiar it may be because it is currently in the movie theaters as a movie starring Julianne Moore who is nominated for an Academy Award for Best Actress.

The second, “What Alice Forgot” is written by Liane Moriarty about a 39 year old woman who falls off her bike in spin class and has lost her memory from the last 10 years.  As a 39 year old she is getting a divorce, has a sister she barely talks to and is one of those super skinny mom’s who stays home and micro manages her children.  She can barely recognize her life today since she last remembers being madly in love with her husband, a little bit chubby, expecting her first child and being best friends with her sister.  As Alice reconstructs her life she realizes she has forgotten part of herself as she has grown up.  Although predictable, it’s funny and entertaining.

The movie version of this book is currently in production, so if you get a jump on it, you can read the book before the movie hits the theaters.

So if you’re lucky enough to be headed out for a spring break, I recommend bringing one or both of these books about Alice.  And when you get back you can remind yourself what you forgot as you read them and remember it all over again when you see the movie.  Enjoy!

About Anne Loughrey

I am an avid member of several book clubs and a prolific keeper of my books. I love to discuss books and hear what others think of books I have read.
This entry was posted in Book clubs, Unbroken, Louis Zamperini, Laura Hillenbrand. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What to read on spring break? Alice, Alice, Alice

  1. Anonymous says:

    Loved both of these books. I had several friends ask for recommendations for Spring Break reads and, while I hadn’t read “Still Alice” yet, “What Alice Forgot” was on my list too. I just added “Loving Frank” to my to read list – thanks for all of the great suggestions.

Leave a Reply

