All in the name of youth and beauty – please don’t read this…

As things get busy this time of year, I have begun to seriously consider my daily routines and frankly I am appalled at all that I do in the name of youth and beauty.

At the potential (and albeit high) risk of oversharing let me explain.

To stay fit, every night I pack up my gym bag, my clothes to wear the next day and set my alarm for 5:25 to meet “the girls” in my group fitness class. Yes, every weekday, no matter how late I go to bed and even if I don’t set my alarm I wake up and attend my fitness class. I am certain I look ridiciulous, my 49 year old worn and torn body, still attempting burpees, jumping jacks and the like but I “just do it” every morning. Clearly I have been influcenced by Nike.

And to be able to actually DO the jumping jacks I attended three physical therapy sessions with a “urogynecology therapist” to get some therapy exercises. It turns out that jumping at my age is quite a risk due to “leakage” and so I learned the proper way to do kegals. (Seriously, there is a proper way, but I won’t show you, book your own damn appointment). So now as I dry my hair and sit at stop signs I do “my proper kegals” every day to keep things “right” in that area.

I started to notice some trouble in my elbow. I was diagnosed with tennis elbow, however, it was not from the act of playing tennis. It probably came from my obsession with keeping my kitchen counters clean or from raking my beach at our cabin. No matter though, I now have to wear a wrist brace and do physical therapy exercises for my wrist. I think I will work those in after my workout but before the kegals.

Then I started to think about the hair foiling, eyebrow waxing and the recently added nail and toe gel that is a MUST in my routine. I am embarrased to admit that I have also tried a little botox to get after the “11 wrinkles” in my forehead. So with THOSE routines I am putting aluminum on my hair, pulling out my eyebrows, adding chemical color to my nails and toes and inserting poison into my forehead with at least one of those appointments per month at an annual cost of an airline ticket to an exotic location.

And yet, even after considering all the packing, jumping, foiling and waxing I am thankful that I am able to do it all. And maybe it’s not all in the name of youth and beauty? I think I am doing it all in the name of health and wellness.

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year. And happy jumping and foiling to you all!

About Anne Loughrey

I am an avid member of several book clubs and a prolific keeper of my books. I love to discuss books and hear what others think of books I have read.
This entry was posted in Beauty. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to All in the name of youth and beauty – please don’t read this…

  1. Deb says:

    I expect a Kegal tutorial at Book Club Xmas Party. If you have a video that would help. Bahahaha.

  2. diana w says:

    I needed a good laugh today! This put a smile on my face and I must admit, have done many of the same things and I have several years on you my friend!

Leave a Reply

