My favorite quote about Easter from “A Prayer for Owen Meany”

I wrote this blog in 2011 but since it’s Easter, I thought I would share my favorite quote about Easter from one of my favorite authors, John Irving.

anneloughrey

Earlier, I admitted that I am a book geek.  I buy my books, keep a list and rank them.  Only 15 books have earned my “ABL top ranking” of a 5.  “A Prayer for Owen Meany” by John Irving is one of those.

I will admit I have a thing for John Irving. I must because on paper, he’s not my kind of guy.  His books are long and I have a short attention span.  This book is about religion a topic I don’t usually gravitate towards.  And he goes on and on and on.  I like to cut to the chase.

But like I said:  I do have a thing for John Irving.  One of the most interesting things about him is that he famously writes the last sentence first and works backwards to the first sentence.  He knows he is finished when he writes the perfect first sentence.  Here is…

View original post 132 more words

About Anne Loughrey

I am an avid member of several book clubs and a prolific keeper of my books. I love to discuss books and hear what others think of books I have read.
This entry was posted in Book clubs, Unbroken, Louis Zamperini, Laura Hillenbrand. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My favorite quote about Easter from “A Prayer for Owen Meany”

  1. Deb says:

    Love this, thank you Anne

  2. Peggy Borstad says:

    Happy Easter Anne!
    I am actually re-reading A Prayer for Owen Meany right now! Okay. Not reading but listening to it on an audio book. I loved this book so much when I read it about 24 years ago. I have wanted to read it again for so long. I decided to get it on an audio book from the library for our Spring Break roadtrip to NYC. Well it turns out the rest of my family was sleeping while it was my turn to drive during the night, and when I decided to start the book. (Okay they slept in the middle of the day too.) At first I didn’t like the reading of Joe Barrett. But it has grown on me. There are so many characters in the book and he does a great job of making them all sound different. The funniest part about listening on our road trip was whenever Barrett did Owen Meany’s voice, everyone would kind of wake up from their car coma and shift around because the voice was so squeaky and high pitched. I would laugh every time to myself and I kept my hand on the volume so I could turn it up and down depending on when “Owen” was talking/screeching.) Good memories.

    There are 22 discs. I am STILL listening. And enjoying every single word. Again.

    Have a great day….because as Owen Meany said, “Easter is the main event.”

    Love your blog!
    Peg

    • Thank you for the reply, Peg. I love it that you had to turn down OWEN’s voice, that is too funny. I have not listened to a book but so many of my friends have, it tempts me to give it a try. See you soon! Anne

      • Peggy Borstad says:

        I feel like I am “soaking the book in” more this time. Versus when I read it long ago. Obviously I don’t remember things from that long ago. But I am really able to savor and enjoy Irving’s words–whereas when I read, I tend to read FAST! I don’t do audiobooks in general. The last time I did one was probably 15 years ago when I listened to John Krakauer’s “Under the Banner of Heaven.” I was able to pay attention much more easily to the “history” portions of the book about the LDS. Have you read that?

        Happy Easter! What a day!

      • I agree, it is a BEAUTIFUL day! I too have enjoyed reading favorite books a second time, now that we have time to enjoy them. And I realize how little I really remember from the first time. I really love Jon Krakauer but I have not read that book. Maybe I should?

Leave a Reply

