My Top 3 books of 2012…..

The last few years I have done a better job of keeping track of the books I read and the date I finish them.

As I looked back, I was surprised to find that I only read 35 books this year.  That may have something to do with my ability to keep track.  It’s not a perfect system after all….

I pondered my list and then got curious as to what Amazon and the NY times were touting as their top books.

I was not surprised to see that the top sellers at Amazon were the Fifty Shades series (they claimed numbers 1 through 3) followed by the Hunger games series (numbers 4 – 6).  I did read the first book of both of those series, but they won’t make my list.

The New York Times separated their list into Fiction and Non Fiction and I realized I don’t read enough Non Fiction. (Perhaps a New Years resolution for 2013?) Their number one Fiction book was a favorite of mine, “Gone Girl” by Gillian Flynn and number 1 Non Fiction was “Killing Kennedy.”

I decided to choose my top three and make sure they were all published in 2012.  With that criteria in mind, here are my top picks for 2012.

1.  “Gone Girl” by Gillian Flynn published June 12, 2012.  This page turner is about a crazy couple. On the morning of their 5th anniversary the wife goes missing.  It alternates chapters between husband and wife as narrators and is full of twists and turns.  This one is sure to be a movie next year so if you haven’t read it yet….READ IT.

2.  “The Poison Tree” by Erin Kelly and published January 31, 2012.  Nobody has heard of this book and it probably won’t make any lists but as I looked back at what I read, this book stuck with me all year.  It is a well written crime book that has extremely interesting characters.  If it’s made into a film, it will probably be an indie film that is creepy and well acted just like the book was creepy and well written. It kept me entertained and has the “sticky factor.”

3.  “Wild” by Cheryl Strayed and published March 20, 2012.  This is about a woman who decides to go on a 3 month long hike on the West Coast after the death of her mother.  She is totally unprepared and not very likeable but as she moves on her journey she develops into a new person.  It is well written and a lovely story about the transformative ability that nature and reflection can have on somebody and it filled me with hope.

As I reflect on this list and look forward to the new year, I am resolving to keep better track of my books and to read more non fiction.  I am also looking forward to encouraging my son, Jack, to read more.  Because of his situation we are miles apart as he attends his new school in Utah.  I am so pleased that while he is on his reflective and healing journey he is learning to love to read.   I look forward to our book club discussions via our letters, and I can’t wait to see his smiling face next year.  I will ask him how he is doing…  and what he is reading….

About Anne Loughrey

I am an avid member of several book clubs and a prolific keeper of my books. I love to discuss books and hear what others think of books I have read.
This entry was posted in book clubs, books, Cheryl Strayed, EL James, Erin Kelly, Fifty Shades of Grey, Gillian Flynn, Gone Girl, reading, the hunger games, The Poison Tree, Wild. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My Top 3 books of 2012…..

  1. Richard Greelis says:

    You must not have read any nonfic. Killing Lincoln/Kennedy, Presidents Club, Unbroken, etc

    On Sat, Dec 22, 2012 at 9:57 AM, anneloughrey

  2. Richard, I DO read some non-fiction, but not enought. I did read Unbroken and I liked it. Any recommendations on good Non fiction?

Leave a Reply

