I am keeping it light while Jack is discovering a love for reading

For the last month, I have been in such a major funk as I have dealt with the pain and anguish of enrolling my son in an all boys school in Utah.  While the decision to place him there was totally the right thing it has been heart wrenching.  More on Jack later….

In the meantime, I have been unable to concentrate and have really struggled to find anything that gives me comfort. My love for reading was failing me.

So I decided to stray from my usual book club titles and try some completely different reading; something light and upbeat. In the last month I have read three novels completely outside of my usual genre.

I read a crime novel, “Killing Floor (Jack Reacher, No. 1)” by Lee Child; “Rainshadow Road” by Lisa Kleypas; and “The Story of Beautiful Girl” by Rachel Simon.  All three entertained me and kept me company during this dark month.  As I read these books I couldn’t help but wondering what Jack was doing.

Every week we get a letter from him.  Last Friday we received our fourth letter.  I tore it open and was disappointed because the first 3 letters were much longer.  This one looked shorter.  I braced myself.

I began reading and right away I could tell that he was different.  He was settling in.  I could tell that he was accepting that he needs to be there and that he was no longer seeing himself as “the new guy.”

In his third letter, he told me he was reading “Fearless” by Eric Blehm.  I couldn’t believe it and I ran right out devoured it.  I was hopeful he would begin to read but with so many changes in his life, I wasn’t sure what to expect.

In this fourth letter he writes:  “I have finished the book “Fearless” and it has made me even more motivated to prove to you, my peers, friends, other family members and myself that I can be a healthy, strong, smart, respectful and sober young man.  I again would recommend the book to all of you……Yesterday afternoon at about 3 pm, I started to read a new book “The Lightning Thief” by Rick Riordan.  I am already on page 255 and I am totally into it.  I think I will finish it by the end of the day.  If I ever finished a 375 page book back home in 2 days I think you would have had a heart attack.  I am really starting to like reading and after I finish this series I would like to start on “the Hunger Games”.  It has now clicked in my mind – reading is fun.”

I can’t tell you how much this lifted my spirits.  Jack has discovered a love for reading.  He is on his way to becoming that healthy young man he aspires to be.  I just know it.

About Anne Loughrey

I am an avid member of several book clubs and a prolific keeper of my books. I love to discuss books and hear what others think of books I have read.
This entry was posted in books, reading and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I am keeping it light while Jack is discovering a love for reading

  1. JAN says:

    That is so great Anne-reading is so fulfulling & it sounds like he gets it!

  2. I just know it too. Let’s catch up soon. Before Xmas would be fun . See you Wednesday

  3. Richard Greelis says:

    That is so cool. If my Henry ever said something like that I think I would feel like I could now die a happy man. And while I’m probably not quite ready to be worm-food, I’m not really anticipating this revelation any time soon. Why did you decide on this school?

    Richard

    On Mon, Dec 10, 2012 at 10:02 PM, anneloughrey wrote:

    > ** > Anne Loughrey posted: “For the last month, I have been in such a major > funk as I have dealt with the pain and anguish of enrolling my son in an > all boys school in Utah. While the decision to place him there was totally > the right thing it has been heart wrenching. More on Ja” Respond to > this post by replying above this line > New post on *anneloughrey* > I am keeping it > light while Jack is discovering a love for reading by > Anne Loughrey > > For the last month, I have been in such a major funk as I have dealt with > the pain and anguish of enrolling my son in an all boys school in Utah. > While the decision to place him there was totally the right thing it has > been heart wrenching. More on Jack later…. > > In the meantime, I have been unable to concentrate and have really > struggled to find anything that gives me comfort. My love for reading was > failing me. > > So I decided to stray from my usual book club titles and try some > completely different reading; something light and upbeat. In the last month > I have read three novels completely outside of my usual genre. > > I read a crime novel, “Killing Floor (Jack Reacher, No. 1)” by Lee Child; > “Rainshadow Road” by Lisa Kleypas; and “The Story of Beautiful Girl” by > Rachel Simon. All three entertained me and kept me company during this > dark month. As I read these books I couldn’t help but wondering what Jack > was doing. > > Every week we get a letter from him. Last Friday we received our fourth > letter. I tore it open and was disappointed because the first 3 letters > were much longer. This one looked shorter. I braced myself. > > I began reading and right away I could tell that he was different. He was > settling in. I could tell that he was accepting that he needs to be there > and that he was no longer seeing himself as “the new guy.” > > In his third letter, he told me he was reading “Fearless” by Eric Blehm. > I couldn’t believe it and I ran right out devoured it. I was hopeful he > would begin to read but with so many changes in his life, I wasn’t sure > what to expect. > >

    • Richard, we needed to make a change for him as he was going down the wrong path. We chose a private boys school in Utah called Liahona Academy that is wonderful. We are getting our son back!

Leave a Reply

