Caye Caulker, Belize…Been there, read that…

I had a major backlog of books and what better way to catch up than to go on a week long vacation to a land of laid back beaches.  Sean and I had been to Belize on two earlier trips and visited Ambergis Caye, but this time on the advice of some fellow traveler friends we visited Caye Caulker.

Here was the rhythym of our day:  breakfast, read by the pool, lunch, read by the ocean, dinner, read on the patio.  Oh we mixed a few other things in there like scuba diving, a couple’s massage and some rowdy games of cribbage but for the most part it was pretty laid back.

I had the chance to finish SIX books.  I will blog more about these later, but here is what I read.

“Franklin and Eleanor, an Extraordinary Marriage” by Hazel Rowley.  This very well researched and very well written book was such a page turner.  I learned so much about Franklin and Eleanor; for example, did you know they were cousins?  Did you know he was elected for 4 terms?  This is a must read for anybody that loves history.

Next I dove into “Kindred” by Octavia Butler.  This is a story of time travel told by a modern day black woman who is transported back to the south in the early 1800’s.  It was eye opening for me to realize how much things have changed in this country and how difficult things were for Black American’s in the south.  I know it sounds obvious, but this story made it more real for me than anything else I have ever read.

Third, I read “The Chaperone” by Laura Moriarty.  This is historical fiction about a middle aged woman who is responsible for looking after the 15 year old Louise Brooks who goes on to be a silent film star.  The story was well told and I learned a lot about life in the early 1900’s.

Next, I was transported back to Minnesota in modern times when I read Nick Hupton’s novel “If I know it’s coming.” Nick is my son’s 10th grade English teacher and during a conference I spied a box of books.  I asked to read his book and I was thoroughly entertained by his story of a middle school boy whose mother is a nurse in the Army Reserve.  Well done, Nick!

My 5th book was a novel by ML Steadman called “The Light Between Oceans.”  This came by way of my Aunt Terry who has proven to be a very good recommender of books.  This tells the tale of a couple living on a deserted island that holds a lighthouse and the story of a baby that comes into their life.

Finally, I was ready to read Oscar Barnes’ novel called “Living the Dream.”  This book is set in Minnesota at a large company and tells the hilarious story of life in a cubicle working on power point presentations.  It is irreverant, snarky and laugh out loud funny.

Finally, with blurry eyes, it was time to head back home.  I am so thankful to have had time with my husband to catch up with him.  And time to catch up on my backlog of books.   Caye Caulker:  Been there, read that!

About Anne Loughrey

I am an avid member of several book clubs and a prolific keeper of my books. I love to discuss books and hear what others think of books I have read.
This entry was posted in "Franklin and Eleanor", "If I know it's coming", "Kindred", "Living the Dream", "The Chaperone", "The Light Between Oceans", books, Hazel Rowley, Laura Moriarty, ML Steadman, Nick Hupton, Octavia E Butler, Oscar Barnes, reading. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

