The sweetest unrequited love story I have read…..

I may be impartial because the author is a very good friend of mine, but I recently re-read “the Boathouse” by Christopher Ochs and I was reminded for a second time how much I loved his self published novel.

This novel is set in both Stillwater, Minnesota and the great state of Montana.  It paints a sweet love story of a young and beautiful couple named Abby and Mitch.  They meet at Stillwater High School and become sweethearts.  Through a series of unfortunate events, no spoiler here, they become separated for a number of years.  Many years later they meet again and are faced with those very difficult decisions about following your heart or staying loyal to a partner.

I don’t want to give away too much but I will quote a section of the book to showcase the elegant prose of Mr. Ochs:  “Later, laying in separate beds a thousand miles apart, they found themselves staring up at Orion, the same star constellation that watched over them as teenagers in 1969. Each was pleased with the phone call.  But each wanted more.”

Now you may argue that since they were lovers in their teens that this tale may not qualify as truly unrequited love. To that argument I will tell you to READ the book!  You can find it on Amazon or on his website at www.christopherochs.com.

To end, Proust famously said, “the only successful love is unrequited love”.  Okay book clubbers:  DISCUSS!

About Anne Loughrey

I am an avid member of several book clubs and a prolific keeper of my books. I love to discuss books and hear what others think of books I have read.
This entry was posted in books, reading and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

