The 4 reasons why I am ending my relationship with my e-reader.

It’s sad.  It’s over. We started out so happy and in love. Like many other people I was an early adopter of the e-reader and I was madly in love.

Then things started to sour.  It started out just to be little things.  The pricing has always bothered me and I started stepping out and buying physical books. I admitted to myself that we were taking a break.  Now, I will tell you, we are through. I’ve tried to work it out, but he just won’t change. In my legal papers these are the four reasons I am leaving him and going back to my first love: Real, physical books.

1.  I hate it that I can’t skip around the e-book easily.  As somebody who likes to look back at notes or check out the book questions there just isn’t enough freedom to skip around.

2.  The prices are too high.  I buy about 10 books a month and the hard back book on a newer release is sometimes only one DOLLAR more than the e-book.  That makes NO sense.

3.  You can’t share books easily enough.  I have a small group of friends that have similiar book tastes and we are constantly passing books around.  Why isn’t it easier for me to share my book?  And some of you hard core techies might say it IS possible, but surely it isn’t easy and if it’s for only 14 days that just doesn’t count.

4.  I like having my books around me.  I am not a hoarder of anything but books. I thought I could get past it, but it turns out it THIS is my tipping point.  I am buying a new book shelf this weekend.

I want to publicly apologize to my e-reader.  I loved you, I did.  I may come back to you someday.  But you’ve got to change.  Until then, I will surround myself with old paper books, carry them around in my purse and flip paper pages with my finger.

About Anne Loughrey

I am an avid member of several book clubs and a prolific keeper of my books. I love to discuss books and hear what others think of books I have read.
This entry was posted in Book clubs, Unbroken, Louis Zamperini, Laura Hillenbrand. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The 4 reasons why I am ending my relationship with my e-reader.

  1. Anonymous says:

    Anne, I hear you! Mindless fiction (Gone Girl) I still buy on the e-reader. For everything else I’d rather have the gosh darn book.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Anne, Your post made me weep, well almost. You have had a longer relationship with your e-reader than myself. I also remember that it was rocky from the start, wasn’t it? I too, like to have books line my shelves, but to break up completely with your e-reader is quite drastic. Perhaps your blog be a starting point for change to the e-reader big dogs? Good Luck! JL

  3. Anonymous says:

    A book. Is to me a history, a thing to covet, save, shelve. A friend without a voice. Books are achievements whether personal or public. They are cosy. They are personal in that we partook of its story and were afforded a quiet repose in return. They feel good in our hands and we like to be seen with books. Yes, we like to be seen with books. They indicate to others the idea we read and in doing so have decided to put aside the drama of life and sequester ourselves to a cosy nook to be entertained. The have a distinct smell about them. They feel good in our hands. They are best read when a blanket and a cup of coffee or tea is near. They are an insight into our own personality. They are akin to and old comfortable chair. Cool rainy autumn afternoons and blustery winter evenings are my favorite time to read a book. Books are timeless. Great books stacked neatly in an old wooden cabinet are comforting. They are a reflection of our mood. A good book is something of a work of art for the soul. People that read are proud of that fact. People that read a great deal like to be transported to another place through story and plot. Well written books are a joy. Poorly written books are a lesson. Books inspire. Books intrigue. Books define us. Well written books are rare. Great books are even more so. Old books are one of the few things we save with a passion. We throw out old clothes, cars, trinkets and those things we have acquired over the years. We even throw out old husbands…and keep the books. They are in turn loyal. They rarely if ever quarrel with us. They are unconditional. They like to be reopened. They do not ever complain. They can be lifelong friends. Lifelong friends are few. Our hands like to have books nestled within our palms and fingers. The sound of a turning page is on a cold winter evening near a fire is one of the rare moments of complete satisfaction. Bob

  4. Stacey says:

    Anne, this is my favorite blog of yours so far!
    Long live books!!

Leave a Reply

