“Major Pettigrew’s Last Stand” a polite British romance

Charming, sweet but boring.

This is a well written novel that had sweet characters but it just didn’t hold my interest.

The premise sounded good:  it is a novel about a 68 year old widower who is the epitomy of British “correctness.”  The book opens with him coming into contact with Jasmina Ali, a 50 something widow who owns and operates the convenience store in their perfect little British town.  And they immediately have chemistry.

But alas, the Major has just learned of the death of his brother Bertie and he has no time to focus on love. Bertie’s death has brought a complication.  You see Bertie and the Major each owned one of a pair of hunting guns. It was the dying wish of their father that upon the death of one of the brothers, the pair was to be restored to the remaining brother.  The Major is focused on restoring his brother’s gun and bringing the set together.

While this is going on, he slowly begins to fall in love with Mrs. Ali.  And when I say slowly, I mean slooooowly.

Try as I might, I just couldn’t get too excited about this book.  It was all so proper and tedious that it didn’t hold my attention.  Of course, my own life is in such contrast to this proper English setting.  I am raising teenagers  and tweens during the back half of a crazy summer which is anything BUT boring.  And trust me there is nothing “correct” about their language.

At it’s heart, this is a love story about overcoming cultural obstacles. Mixed in the middle is a little conflict as the Major attempts to complete the gun set.

I really wanted to love this book, many people have read it and told me about it.  But in the end it was just too neat and clean and predictable to hold my interest.  I was able to finish and I am glad that I did but my advice is to only read this one if you are in the mood for a sweet, charming love story that’s just a wee bit boring.

 

 

About Anne Loughrey

I am an avid member of several book clubs and a prolific keeper of my books. I love to discuss books and hear what others think of books I have read.
This entry was posted in books, Helen Simonson, Major Pettigrew's Last Stand, reading. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

