Forget 50 Shades of Grey, “Gone Girl” is the summer smash

I know everyone is all caught up with the 50 Shades trilogy, but seriously, “Gone Girl” is the summer beach read I will be recommending to everyone.

It is the suspense filled story of a young couple. On the morning of their 5th anniversary, the wife goes missing.  And her husband, Nick, is the prime suspect.   Of course.

Told in the first person, it alternates chapters between husband and wife.  Nick tells the story from the point Amy goes missing while Amy fills in the background details of their relationship from diary entries.

I am not normally a fan of suspense or thriller books, but this one is so well written that I could not put it down.  Gillian Flynn does a remarkable job developing the characters and writes the best dialogue I have read in a long time.

You don’t end up really LIKING the characters because quite frankly they are both miserable people,  but both of them have a sharp edged wit and are so interesting and snarky you want to learn more.

I did find myself savoring Amy’s chapters.   Amy is clever and beautiful and tells of how she became a “Cool Girl” to snare her handsome husband.  Here is a passage that made me laugh out loud:

“Being the Cool Girl means I am a hot, brilliant, funny woman who adores football, poker, dirty jokes, and burping, who plays video games, drinks cheap beer, and loves threesomes….”

And Nick gets a few good lines in too.  As he is contemplating the major, major twist in the book he starts thinking about Amy.  He says to himself, ” My wife is crazy.  I was married to a crazy woman.  It’s every asshole’s mantra:  I married a psycho bitch.  But I got a small nasty bite of gratification: I really did marry a genuine, bona fide psycho bitch.”

I think both husbands and wives can relate to these characters.  Perhaps some of us girls were “cool girl” girlfriends who got a little bit more uptight with marriage.  And I can imagine some husbands might think their wives are a little “snarky” from time to time as well.

As the story progresses, it gets more and more dark and Nick keeps asking himself the same question over and over:  “What are you thinking Amy?” As Gillian writes, it’s a question most married people ask themselves every day….”What is he thinking?  Who are you?  What have we done to each other?”

This book will keep you asking those questions all the way to the end.  I have heard many people complain about the ending, but I thought it was perfect.  Read this one.  It is a page turner!

About Anne Loughrey

I am an avid member of several book clubs and a prolific keeper of my books. I love to discuss books and hear what others think of books I have read.
This entry was posted in book clubs, books, Gillian Flynn, Gone Girl. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Forget 50 Shades of Grey, “Gone Girl” is the summer smash

  1. Hello Kindle…time to download a new book for mama, Gone Girl. Sounds wonderful. I love crazy books.

  2. Lise Crosby says:

    Anne – I just read this book over the weekend and couldn’t agree more with all of your comments – especially recommending this over 50 Shades of Gray! LOVED it and was going to send an e-mail to the book club to tell them to RUN and get it.

  3. asktracyca says:

    I just downloaded it. Will let you know what I think. I do think the Fifty has gone a little overboard. After halfway through the 2nd book there was a little too much erotica and not enough story but I guess the state of the world these days people are looking for an escape from reality and this definitely provides that. cheers!

  4. Rachel Nielsen says:

    I’m doing a lot of driving and haven’t had a lot of time for reading lately, so I got the audiobook version of Gone, Girl. I find myself wanting to run errands just so I can hear more. Thanks for the recommendation!

Leave a Reply

