Been There Read That: Cozumel, Mexico Spring Break 2012

I just got back from Spring Break in Mexico and while I had 6 books to read (and very good intentions) I only finished 3 books.

To be fair, I didn’t really expect to finish them all since it was a ‘trip” (with kids) rather than a “vacation” (no kids) and it’s much more difficult to find quiet time with the three of them running around.  That PLUS we were with our very good friends the Perry’s and we had nightly card games and lots of laughing by the pool to keep me occupied.  Put it all together and it makes for a very fun trip but not much for finishing books.

I did manage to complete these:

1.  “The Glass Room” by Simon Mawer. The book is a work of fiction about a family that lives in a lovely, modern glass house right at the beginning of WWII.  The man of the house is Jewish and a very successful business man.  On a business trip he falls for a lower class woman who happens to also be Jewish and through a series of weird events she ends up living with his family as the nanny.  The whole family including the nanny is forced to flee during the war.  This story is interesting but as you read you begin to realize the book is really about the Glass Room and the other people who stay there after the original family leaves.  I learned that this Glass House really does exist somewhere in Europe which also makes it interesting.  It was good, but it needed tighter editing.

The second book I read was “Fifty Shades of Grey” by EL James.  Okay, I am a little embarrassed to admit I read this one since it’s a sexy little page turner about a handsome rich guy who likes his women “subservient.”  It’s the talk of the town right now so I wanted to see what the hype was all about.  It was good but I am glad I read it on my kindle so my kids couldn’t see the cover.  Whew.

The last book I read was “Cop Book” by Richard Greelis. Richard was a Bloomington police officer for many years and since he is coming to my April Book Club I will leave a full accounting of this one for later.

I will end with a family photo from the trip.  You can see that we were all having fun but very distracted, looking in different places.  And this is why I only finished 3 books!

About Anne Loughrey

I am an avid member of several book clubs and a prolific keeper of my books. I love to discuss books and hear what others think of books I have read.
This entry was posted in books, Fifty Shades of Grey, Richard Greeliz, Simon Mawer, The Cop Book. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

