It’s time to start ‘resolving”….

It’s that time of year to make New Years resolutions.  Eat right, exercise more, listen more fully, be a better mom.  You know the drill.

But how about a resolution that’s a little different this year?

This year I resolve to read a larger variety of books.  I tend to get into ruts and read the same authors over and over.  John Irving.  Lillian Hellman, Wally Lamb.  I get crazy over a writer and then I read every book.

I noticed that I became more interested in variety this year  because I started writing this blog, I started to get so many more book recommendations which led me to a lot more variety.

Here are some examples of books I read this year that I would not have otherwise read:

1.  “Crooked letter, crooked letter” by Tom Franklin.  It’s a mystery which is not my usual genre but my friend Lindsay recommended it to me and it was entertaining and also very well written.

2.  “The Gathering” by Anne Enright.  A very prosey and intelligent book that was recommended to me by my friend Bobby.  It had great and insightful lines about family and marriage.

3.  “The Gargoyle” by Andrew Davidson.  A complicated book about a burn victim that is also a time traveler.  Sounds strange but it was a page turner.  Recommended to me by another mom on my daughter’s soccer team.

4.  “To be sung underwater” by Tom McNeal.  A love story about a woman who leaves her small town and leaves behind her one true love.  I loved the whole book except the ending, although upon reflection it had a very neat twist. Recommended to me by a fellow blogger.

5.  Dare I say this one?  Okay, you read all the way to the end so I will admit to this last one called “Sugar Babe” by Holly Hill.  It’s very racy and sexy and probably one of the most interesting books I read this year.  A teaser about it?  The author decides she wants to become a professional call girl for only one man and puts an ad in the paper. Maybe you should read this one on your kindle so people don’t see the cover! I will leave the recommender nameless, but you know who you are!

So this year as I am eating better, and doing all the normal resolutions, I will continue to resolve to improve my reading variety. And I will pass that on to you!

 

About Anne Loughrey

I am an avid member of several book clubs and a prolific keeper of my books. I love to discuss books and hear what others think of books I have read.
This entry was posted in book clubs, books, reading and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to It’s time to start ‘resolving”….

  1. Shelly says:

    Boz ~ of the above books – which would be the best book for a book club discussion? Also, which was the hardest to put down? Thanks as always for your recommendations – love it – keep them coming!

    Shelly

    • Hey Shel, the one I couldn’t put down was Sugarbabe. Wowza. Read it! But for book club, the best would be Gargoyle. So much to discuss and it’s very complex. It was great seeing you and the fam over the holiday!

  2. Mary Lou Olson says:

    Anne, I never read the Gargoyle, but recommended it to Jan just because she likes gargoyles so much and is always photographing them on our trips. I now mentioned it to her again to read. I just got The Gathering from the library so will start on that soon. Thanks for blogging.

Leave a Reply

