I am preparing for the holiday by stocking the cabin with kids books

It’s cold.  It’s dark.  Yes, it’s winter in Minnesota.  That means it’s time to curl up with a good book.  Especially if you are at a cabin that has no TV or computer.

So imagine my surprise when I was at the cabin last weekend and I discovered that I didn’t have the proper reading material for my kids!  Horror!

By way of background, my kids are on their own personal journey with their love of the written word.

My oldest daughter is 17 and well on her way to becoming a lifelong reader.  She has read all the book sets.  She started with Laura Ingalls, moved on to Harry Potter and the Twilight books and recently read “the Hunger Games” trilogy.  I was nearly moved to tears when she recently took my author recommendation and is choosing to study 3 works by my favorite author, John Irving, as part of her AP English class.

My middle child, a 14 year old son, so far only reads when it is assigned at school.  I’m choosing to look at this as an undiscovered love.  Recently as part of some “consequences” he was given a homework assignment by ME to read one full novel before he can begin to get his priveleges back.

My youngest daughter is 10 years old and didn’t start out loving to read but recently has shown more of an interest.  She has found some authors and characters that have captured her interest and she is beginning to find the love.

Which brings me back to the cold, dark winter in Minnesota at the cabin.  My kids were bored and started hunting around for reading material and could find none.

So back at home this week I have spent time going through all the kids books I have purchased and have collected over the past 17 years of parenting.  I found some Nancy Drew books, Trixie Belden, Judy Blume and of course some Laura Ingalls.

This week we will have a bunch of kids up at the cabin celebrating the Christmas and New Years holidays.  I hope they get bored and start looking for a book to read.  Because if they do, NOW I am prepared!

About Anne Loughrey

I am an avid member of several book clubs and a prolific keeper of my books. I love to discuss books and hear what others think of books I have read.
This entry was posted in books, cabin, random, reading. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I am preparing for the holiday by stocking the cabin with kids books

  1. Kim Jeter says:

    I remember Trixie Belden! Whatever happened to the Donna Parker books? I loved those too!! Judy Blume is always a favorite. I read at least 1 of hers to my students every year.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Anne,
    Gary Paulson books are great “boy” books that girls love too. Finished “The Paris Wife” last week and have a good start on “A Prayer for Owen Meane”. Thanks so much for recommending them. I am so happy we met on the plane. I love following your book blog for new reads. So true about the dark days in Wisconsin too. I read a lot yesterday, the darkest day of the year! Happy Holidays!

    Connie Miller

Leave a Reply

