Sometimes you need a book that makes you laugh out loud…

It’s been a rough week over here. My daughter tore her ACL in a season ending injury, and it has been very emotional for both of us.  Sometimes, when you feel like crap, it’s good to read a book about somebody that can make you laugh out loud.

Rhoda Janzen’s book “Mennonite in a Little Black Dress” was just that book for me this week.  Rhoda found herself single when her husband of 15 years left her for a man named Bob that he met on Gay.com.  Well that kind of puts things into perspective doesn’t it?

Rhoda is able to laugh at herself and what can take your own troubles away any better than laughing at somebody else?  Consider this scene:  Rhoda is talking with her friend who is trying to set her up with a new man.  Her friend asks her what qualities she is looking for a new man.  Rhoda rambles off things like he has to be kind, culturally literate, on the path to consciousness, reflective, open….Her friend stops her with this line.

“Woah there Nellie”, Carla interupted.  “I’m gonna give you some free advice.  You ready for this?  How about we lower the bar?  How about we look for someone who is straight for starters?”

Ha ha, isn’t that funny?  Forgot about that darn ACL tear!

Rhoda also had endearing parents and ones that I am sure many of us can relate to.  Religious or not, many of us feel we are way cooler and hipper than our parents but during this book Rhoda learns to really appreciate both her square but cool parents AND her conservative Mennonite upbring.

And just what exactly is a Mennonite anyway?  I had a vague notion that it was a religious group and I was correct.  There is a whole section at the end that gives a little cultural perspective on the conservative nature on the Mennonites.

So just when I was feeling guilty that this book was just chick lit, it taught me something new about the Mennonites.  Yeah!  Not just chick lit.  I learned something new.  So it was fun AND educational.

I recommend reading this book when you need something light to fly through that will cheer you up and make you forget whatever it is that is troubling you.

Thank you, Rhoda.  Well done.  Now find that hot “culturally literate” man and write another book about him.

About Anne Loughrey

I am an avid member of several book clubs and a prolific keeper of my books. I love to discuss books and hear what others think of books I have read.
This entry was posted in book clubs, books, mennonite in a little black dress, rhoda janzen. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sometimes you need a book that makes you laugh out loud…

  1. Anonymous says:

    Anne, I really am looking for a fun book. I’ll keep that one for my Xmas vaca lake time. I am reading “unbroken”. Zamparini wrote a book about his life too. “Devil At My Heels”. I want to read that next. Thanks for your updates.

    Me (Deb I)

    • Deb, knowing you as well as I do, I KNOW this book will crack you up! I am very interested to hear what you think of the other Zamparini book. I know at first he didn’t want to do “unbroken” with Laura Hillenbrand because of the earlier book. Was it different? Best to you!

  2. Kiersa says:

    Anne–I’ve been thinking about you all lots, hope you have a great family holiday. Btw–did you know I went to a private mennonite school!?

    • Kiki, I can’t WAIT to hear about the mennonite school. Let’s get together very soon. Maybe me and you and Erin can have lunch together over the holidays. She would love it. She is a little bit down with the knee and all. We have surgery planned so it’s good to know what’s next. See u soon!

  3. Mary Lou Olson says:

    Anne, I read this book last year and also found it to be very funny with a chance to learn a little about another culture (that wasn’t Muslim, as many of my book club books have been about lately). My love to Erin and I hope to see her soon.

    ML

Leave a Reply

