My 5 favorite “recently published books” of 2011

Are you looking for stocking stuffers for that beloved reader in your life?  Just in case you are, I have put together my Top 5 “recently” published books of 2011.

Actually, here is the fine print, all of these books were either published in the fall of 2010 or were published in 2011. I would like a drum roll please…..

1.  “Left Neglected” by Lisa Genova,  published in 2011.  The story of a young career woman who is impacted by a car accident and loses feeling and ability in the left side of her body.  Many people read her first book, “Still Alice” but I actually liked this one better.  It kept my interest, I learned a lot and had a great story.  READ it!

2.  “Unbroken” by Lauren Hillenbrand,  published in November of 2010.  This is the staggering account of the obstacles that Louie Zamperini faced during his lifetime.  This book makes most any other life look easy.  When my chips are down I think of Louie’s journey on a life raft in the shark infested waters.  He survives that only to land on enemy soil during the war and become a POW.  It’s long, but it’s good.

3.  “Breaking Night” by Liz Murray, published in September 2010.  I don’t know how she did it but she made her story of growing up homeless in New York City a positive and hopeful story.  Despite her living conditions and having drug addicted and alcoholic parents, she graduated from Harvard.  You will thank your parents for your childhood no matter how dysfunctional you think your family is!

4.  “The Paris Wife” by Paula McLain, published in 2011.  This is the story of Hadley, who was Ernest Hemingway’s first wife.  It features love, sex, alcohol and affairs.  You really can’t go wrong.

5.  “Room” by Emma Donoghue and published in September of 2010.  This story had such an interesting and unusual premise that it really is a must read.  It is the story of a young mother and her small son who are locked up in a room.  It is heart wrenching, yet hopeful and it is unlike anything else you have ever read.

So if you are looking for gifts, these would be great for the reader in your life.

If you are a reader:  how did I do?  Obviously absent from my list are two books:  “In the Garden of Beasts” by Erik Larson and “State of Wonder” by Ann Patchett, both published in 2011.   While I am glad I read both of them,  I don’t think they are top 5 worthy.

Check these out!

 

 

About Anne Loughrey

I am an avid member of several book clubs and a prolific keeper of my books. I love to discuss books and hear what others think of books I have read.
This entry was posted in book clubs, Book clubs, Unbroken, Louis Zamperini, Laura Hillenbrand, books, breaking night, emma donoghue, left neglected, lisa genova, liz murray, Paula Mclain, reading, Room, The Paris Wife, top books of 2011. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

