“The Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins

I am not usually a fan of the Young Adult genre.  For example, I didn’t read any of the Harry Potter books or the Twilight series, however, recently my book club chose this book and I was intruiged.

The “Hunger Games” is a novel that takes place in a future time period after the demise of North America.  Each year one boy and one girl from each of the 12 districts compete in a televised “reality” style game in which each contestant fights to the death until only one winner remains.

Yuck.

But hey, I’m a trooper and I had to give this book at least my obligatory 100 pages.  It also didn’t hurt that my 16 year old daughter read this book from cover to cover in a day.   She was cheering me on.

I wasn’t excited about reading about the deaths of the children and to be fair to the very talented author, Suzanne Collins, she handled it very well. She kept those parts short and to the point with very little description of the gory details.

The book is written from the perspective of the young heroine, Katniss from District 12.  She is a spunky and hard driving girl who has had to survive on her own for a long time. The plot is made more interesting when in the middle of the games a rule change is declared and it is determined that there could be a boy and girl winner from a single district. Then our attention is turned to the young man from her district, Peeta, and as expected a little romance begins to make it even more interesting.

During the games the contestants battle the elements. The weekend I read this book was the first weekend we spent at our new cabin.  I woke up on Sunday morning to read this book and our cabin was very chilly.  I imagined how I would fare if I had to compete in any kind of competition. I realized I would not compete very well at all.

I give this book a 4 rating for it’s original content and fast pace.  It was released in 2008 and it has already sold over 800,000 copies.  There are 2 additional books which have also sold well as e-books.  Suzanne Collins is the first childrens or Young Adult author to sell over one million kindle e-books  and the 6th to join the Kindle Million club.

 

About Anne Loughrey

I am an avid member of several book clubs and a prolific keeper of my books. I love to discuss books and hear what others think of books I have read.
This entry was posted in book clubs, books, cabin, reading, suzanne collins, the hunger games. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

