The Cabin – We are officially cabin owners!

We closed on the cabin and it was quite a process:  we learned about Ponzi schemes, land surveys, assessments and how difficult it is to get a loan in the “new” economy.

My daughter, Erin and I are so excited to work on the shoreline, that we have now our very own waders.  Not many high school girls can say that!

Here is a brief recap of our first weekend.  We closed on Friday and started the process of “moving in”. Being a planner, I thought I had it all figured out, at least the creature comforts part of it. I will admit that my husband did the “heavy lifting.”  He attended the closing, signed all the paperwork, got the van, picked up and moved the furniture, and changed out the locks.

I was put in charge of the living areas and I will admit that my focus was the books, the coffee and the wine.  On Saturday morning my family went outside to begin the work out there and they left me alone inside the cabin.  I will also admit that the first thing I did was to set up my bookcase.  I had packed up all my favorite books from home and I assembled the bookcase and put away all of my books as my first order of business.

Then I moved to the rest of the cabin.  I put away the pots, pans and dishes and then lovingly unpacked my coffee pot and wine opener.  I put my coffee grounds in the freezer and my bottle of white wine in the new refrigerator.   (Hey, thanks for getting that Sean!  Was it heavy?)

We worked hard on Saturday and so we all slept well. I love my Sunday morning quiet time.  I spend it with a cup of coffee and a book. As usual, I woke up first and I made my coffee and got out my book (my current read is “The Hunger Games” by Suzanne Collins).  I went to pour my coffee into my mug when I when I realized that I forgot to pack coffee mugs!  Resourceful and optimistic, I set out in search of a glass cup.  I finally found a glass measuring cup the kind some people use for baking things and poured my coffee into that.

I finally found a use for that darn thing!

This final picture is my husband and I on the front porch of our new cabin.  We are officially cabin owners.  Let the games (and the work) begin!

About Anne Loughrey

I am an avid member of several book clubs and a prolific keeper of my books. I love to discuss books and hear what others think of books I have read.
This entry was posted in books, cabin, random, reading. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Cabin – We are officially cabin owners!

  1. Anne, as I read your blog today I am actually sitting at my fave coffee shop in Longville, Minnesota. I am up here putting the jet skis away. It’s a dirty job but someone has to do it. I won.
    When I am here I ponder, I figure out life’s mysteries, I grow and I become a better person. I wish all of that for you and your family. Now I wish I could just become as voracious of a reader as you are. I am reading Left Neglected before I start Hunger Games. It is that book by Lisa Genovese? (name) She wrote the Alzheimers book. I will tell you that it is almost like yours and my life in the beginning. We are good moms and good workers. We are doing the very best we can and we spend alot of energy trying to make this all work for us. The lesson in this book is that if we had to slow down (if we were forced to by something life threw at us) we would find that life is even sweeter than we could possibly imagine. Even half a life is sweet when you slow down and look at it. We are so fortunate to have what we have now….but if it is all taken away…there is still more we don’t know about. Love you…love your blog….keep up the good work.f I am afraid to start hunger games cause I hate futuristic. But…I hate alot of things til I have to do them:)

    • Thanks for the comments, Deb. I always love to hear your thoughts which is why whenever there is an opportunity for a long car ride, I pick driving with YOU! The lessons about slowing down are so rich, what is hard is actually being able to do it! I was afraid of the hunger games too but it really was pretty good.

Leave a Reply

