The Cabin – the judge approved us! The next step: closing

Today we got the call from our realtor:  “the judge has ruled in your favor and we can close on the cabin on Friday”.  I didn’t think I would ever be happy to hear about judges making rulings on our life, but at least they ruled in our favor, right?

So that is behind us and now we prepare for the closing.  And since our lives are a little complicated because of the rental property busines what a painful process this is!  We haven’t bought a property since the market crashed and I have to say I feel a little invaded.  Talk about sharing all your personal business! They want every savings statement, and for the rental properties every signed rental lease, copies of withdrawls and deposits, even a code to confirm my employment.  I will say this:  I would hate to be on the bad side of these guys!

But it will all be worth it, I know it will.  One good thing about this cabin is that our family now has a common goal.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s not that we haven’t been a close knit bunch before:  we were.  But now we are talking about where the couch will go,  what kind of a boat do we want and which is our favorite board game.

For example:  today I actually received a text message from my son Jack.  His usual messages are:  “pick me up” or “can Walter sleep over?”.  Today when I texted him that we got the cabin he actually texted me back with a whole one word text which was unrelated to any of his physical needs.  He said:  and I quote:  “YES!”.  (Punctuation included my friends!)

I attached a picture of the back deck with a view to the lake:  Lake Marie.  As I enjoy the hustle and bustle of today, the first day the kids go back to school and possibly the busiest day of the year with work, watching sports and filling out paperwork, I think about the cabin.  I can’t wait to sit on the back deck of this place and listen to the laughter of all the friends and family that will enjoy this beautiful place with us.

About Anne Loughrey

I am an avid member of several book clubs and a prolific keeper of my books. I love to discuss books and hear what others think of books I have read.
This entry was posted in books, cabin, random, reading. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Cabin – the judge approved us! The next step: closing

  1. Anonymous says:

    You are going to LOVE it! Can’t wait to be an easy breezy guest! P.S. Isn’t it rare that Jack actually ASKS if Walter can sleep over? You will get A LOT of reading done there. 🙂

  2. Mary Lou Olson says:

    We are all so happy for you! Can’t wait to see it. It looks just beautiful and I can’t believe how excited Sean is. Love you all.

Leave a Reply

