“One Day” – 2 friends over 20 years by David Nicholls

This doesn’t happen to me often, but I finished this book in a weekend. It was a book club book but when I started it, I thought I had picked up the wrong book.  I called my friend, Cathy, and asked her why we were reading a “chick flick” book?  She just laughed and told me to keep reading, I would soon be hooked.

In my defense, at first blush this reads like “When Harry Met Sally” and I thought, what’s the big deal?  I already saw this movie.

But Cathy was right.  It hooked me.  The format is very unusual, the book opens on the last day of University for Emma and Dexter who share a night of drinking and fun and go on to become best friends.  The book tracks each of them down on the anniversary of that meeting, July 15, and spans over 20 years.  It takes you through the ups and downs of their life and friendship. The book might sound predictable but there is a surprising plot twist near the end and the writing and dialogue are the best I have read in a long time.

Emma and Dexter have some obvious sexual chemistry but they seem to keep missing each other.  Their timing, it would seem, is all off.  The central question the book asks is “what if?”.  What if I would have said what I really thought?  What if I would have mailed that letter?

The book opened with modest success but became a best seller and now a movie based largely on word of mouth and the appeal this book has with both men and women.  The movie opens on 8/19 starring Anne Hathaway as Emma.  It will be interesting to see how they handle the major plot twist, which is a secret that binds all readers.

I know there’s not much time until the movie opens, but hey, I read it in a weekend!  READ this one!

About Anne Loughrey

I am an avid member of several book clubs and a prolific keeper of my books. I love to discuss books and hear what others think of books I have read.
This entry was posted in book clubs, David Nicholls, One Day, reading. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to “One Day” – 2 friends over 20 years by David Nicholls

  1. Barb D says:

    OK Anne – I’ve requested it from the library, and looking forward to finding out what the surprise plot twist is!!

  2. Anonymous says:

    I will borrow this one Anne!

Leave a Reply

