My acquired tastes: Dark coffee, red wine and John Irving

I never meant for it to be this way, it definitely wasn’t part of my plan.  But yes, I admit I do have a few vices.

Every morning I have a large cup of dark coffee and almost every evening I have a large glass of red wine.  (My kids would tell you it’s every evening, I would argue it’s once or twice a week – you decide).  I digress but once I saw a blogger with the tag line “a pot of coffee by day and a bottle of wine by night”….I liked her!

And every so often I need a little fix of my favorite author, John Irving.  What is it about him, you might ask?  In an earlier blog post I described how he famously writes the last sentence first and works backwards and yes, the quirky style is part of the appeal for me.

But frankly it’s more that I never want his books to end.  This is rare for me.  I am task oriented, I like to accomplish things, check the boxes, get to done.  Most books I read, I truly do enjoy, but I look forward to the ending.  Sometimes I read the ending just to avoid any surprises.  I really hate surprises.  But the point is, I want them done.  I want to like the book or even love it but I want it done,  so I can move on to the next book.

Not so with John.

He has written 12 novels and I have read 5 of them, probably his most famous.  I have read the following:

1.  The World According to Garp

2.  The Cider House Rules

3.  A Prayer for Owen Meany

4.  A Widow for a Year

5.  Last Night in Twisted River.

So let’s figure this out, after all I can do math, I even passed the CPA exam!  If he wrote 12 and I have read 5, then there are 7 left.  SEVEN!  And he isn’t even retired yet!

I am so happy for my acquired tastes.  Coffee by day, wine by night and John Irving whenever I need a little fix.

About Anne Loughrey

I am an avid member of several book clubs and a prolific keeper of my books. I love to discuss books and hear what others think of books I have read.
This entry was posted in book clubs, books, john irving, reading. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My acquired tastes: Dark coffee, red wine and John Irving

  1. Ashley says:

    Love the motto: “Coffee by day, wine by night.” The author of the blog you originally found that on should be declared brilliant! Also, which of John Irving’s books would you suggest for a first time Irving reader?

    • Ashley, isn’t that the best motto? Do you think I could steal it? “A Prayer for Owen Meany” is the classic most famous Irving, so I would probably start there. If you would rather watch the movie, it’s called “SImon Birch”, a real oldie and misses about half the story. Either that or “A Cider House Rules”.

      • Ashley says:

        I had to watch “Simon Birch” once in middle school for a class. Wow is that movie depressing. Maybe I’ll start with “A Cider House Rules.” Thanks for the suggestions and I wish it were possible to steal that motto.

  2. Anonymous says:

    Great Blog Anne!!!

  3. Trinka says:

    oops I don’t want to be anonymous. Once again – Great blog Anne!

Leave a Reply

