Confessions of a Extroverted Reader

People always ask me where I find the time to read.  I  never really know what to say but after thinking about it, I came up with the following confessions.

1.  I read a lot on a vacation.  Admittedly, I do have a very short attention span but I combat this by taking breaks. Even on vacation, it seems I can’t stay focused for more than an hour at a time.  I think this stems from classes in school and now meetings at work that last, oddly enough, exactly one hour.  After an hour, I have to wander around, talk to someone, grab a coffee or just get up and stretch.  Then I can read for exactly one more hour.  In a week’s vacation I can read 4 books.  As a side note, I call a “vacation” travel without my cherished children.  With them along it becomes a “trip”, but even so I can still read 3 books.

2.  I have a lot of daily habits and reading is one of them.  This may sound boring but I am a very consistent person.  This drives my friends and family crazy. By way of example: I get up every morning and work out.  I go to work, I catch up on my beloved Twins, I watch all of my kids activities and then, almost like clockwork, at 10:15 I grab my book.  And, of course, I read for exactly one hour.  Then ZZZZZ.

3.  I don’t watch TV.  I don’t like TV.  I have added one show, “Modern Family”, to my habit list because I think it is hysterically funny. But I use all that other TV time for my real daily habit:  reading.

4.  I always have 2 or 3 books going at the same time.  I hate STARTING a book because it takes me a long time to get into it, so as I am getting near the end of a book, I try to stretch that book out by starting a new one and using the old one as a reward.  Okay, so as I write this I realize that sounds weird, but it’s true.

5.  I surround myself with social activities around books.  I am in 4 book clubs with fabulous women.  They give me incentive to read.  Now I am a “book blogger” so one of my ice breaker questions when I meet people is:  “what are you reading?”

As I re-read these confessions I realize that I may have some issues. At least they are all legal, they don’t make me look foolish in public and I get a lot of reading done.

About Anne Loughrey

I am an avid member of several book clubs and a prolific keeper of my books. I love to discuss books and hear what others think of books I have read.
This entry was posted in book clubs, books. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Confessions of a Extroverted Reader

  1. Anonymous says:

    You’re my kind of nut! Add these to your list: “Whispers of the Ancients”: Native Tales for Teachiing & Healing in our Time. It’s a great read. And how about “Gunns Golden Rules” by Tim Gunn. HYSTERICAL!! I love reading multiple books – and it’s so much easier not to get weird stares by having them all on my Kindle. woot woot!

    • Anonymous says:

      that anonymous (me) is your buddy Jill down the road. I hit the ‘send’ before I my mind told me to lift my index finger to hit ‘send’….a typical Anne move too! hahahaha –

  2. Anonymous says:

    get well soon.

  3. Anonymous says:

    anonymous is your lovely neighbor Jill who can’t sign her notes before she hits ‘send’. OOPS!

  4. John Ball says:

    I think it’s awesome! We just picked up the new Nook and I love it. Reading The Lincoln Lawyer now and want to dig into a few of from Vince Flynn. Gotta read the books before the movies!

  5. JJ says:

    You are amazing and wise, and these always make me smile. Thanks! JJ

  6. Garx says:

    Actually 5 Book Clubs. One at work as well!

  7. Thanks for all the feedback! I am glad I am all of YOUR kind of nut! 🙂

Leave a Reply

