Me and my e-reader: We’re “taking a break”

I remember the day I bought my e-reader at Best Buy.  I was jubuliant!  I changed my facebook status to:  “I am in a relationship with my Kindle and it’s complicated.”  Of course, it was meant as a joke but now 6 months later I think we are breaking up.

Don’t get me wrong I still like it and for some reading situations I will use it.  We recently went on a Spring Break trip and it was great for carrying lots of books with just a little bit of space.  And how can you NOT love the ability to look word up right on the spot?

But recently I read some books that had pictures and charts and I found myself wanting to go back and forth between sections of the book and it got tricky.  And as I admitted earlier, I really like to OWN my books.  Ownership feels more real with a big book than just the words on my kindle.

So, I bought a hard copy of the new book I am reading:  “the Paris wife”.  I felt like I was stepping out on my e-reader.  But like I said:  It’s complicated!

About Anne Loughrey

I am an avid member of several book clubs and a prolific keeper of my books. I love to discuss books and hear what others think of books I have read.
This entry was posted in book clubs, books, e-readers. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Me and my e-reader: We’re “taking a break”

  1. Judy Gruggen says:

    I read a yoga book with lots of diagrams and photos that I boughtvon Kindle and the real book. The “real” book is littered with sticky notes…electronic sticky notes, book marks, just aren’t the same.

  2. Ann says:

    Until they close libraries down, I think I’ll always have books around. And if they do close the doors and libraries are only downloadable, I hope to have figured out how to borrow using my Nook!

  3. Mary Lou Olson says:

    How are you liking this book? I have it on my list to read this summer. I think it sounds like a fun time in Paris.

Leave a Reply

