My favorite quote about Easter from “A Prayer for Owen Meany”

Earlier, I admitted that I am a book geek.  I buy my books, keep a list and rank them.  Only 15 books have earned my “ABL top ranking” of a 5.  “A Prayer for Owen Meany” by John Irving is one of those.

I will admit I have a thing for John Irving. I must because on paper, he’s not my kind of guy.  His books are long and I have a short attention span.  This book is about religion a topic I don’t usually gravitate towards.  And he goes on and on and on.  I like to cut to the chase.

But like I said:  I do have a thing for John Irving.  One of the most interesting things about him is that he famously writes the last sentence first and works backwards to the first sentence.  He knows he is finished when he writes the perfect first sentence.  Here is the first sentence from “Owen Meany”:  “I am doomed to remember a boy with a wrecked voice – not because of his voice or because he was the smallest person I ever knew, or even because he was the instrument of my mother’s death, but because he is the reason I believe in God;  I am a Christian because of Owen Meany.”

Did it draw you in?

Now back to Easter.  The Easter quote in this book is so good that one year my pastor even used it in his sermon.  Here goes:  “Anyone can be sentimental about the Nativity; any fool can feel like a Christian at Chrismas.  But Easter is the main event; if you don’t believe in the resurrection, you’re not a believer.”

So Happy Easter from your favorite Book Geek!

About Anne Loughrey

I am an avid member of several book clubs and a prolific keeper of my books. I love to discuss books and hear what others think of books I have read.
This entry was posted in book clubs, books, john irving. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My favorite quote about Easter from “A Prayer for Owen Meany”

  1. Judy Gruggen says:

    Yes…you drew me in big time!

  2. Susie Schrader says:

    I will join you at the lover of John Irving and book nerd table.

  3. Judy, even though this one is a little long, I think both you and Terry will love it. Susie, I didn’t know! A fellow Irving fan. Which one of his is your fave? Personally, I loved Widow for a Year. Think the book club is ready for him?

  4. Nick says:

    I googled the quote because it’s Easter and I wanted to make sure I remembered it correctly, Google brought me here, which is cool because I love John Irving too. “A Prayer for Owen Meany” is my favorite of his books but “Cider House Rules” and “A Son of the Circus” (which is a much longer book than even Owen Meany) are also excellent.

    Thanks for posting this!

    • Hi Nick. I wrote this last year and I am amazed at how many people find this post beause of Google search. I love John Irving too! He has a new book coming out in May. Happy Easter

  5. Reblogged this on anneloughrey and commented:

    I wrote this blog in 2011 but since it’s Easter, I thought I would share my favorite quote about Easter from one of my favorite authors, John Irving.

Leave a Reply

