Best “First Book Club Book”

So, you’re starting a book club?  Great!  There are many, many tips to having a great book club:  the members, the venue, how you “operate”, etc.  but none more important than picking good books.

For a book club a book has to be good on two levels.  First it has to be entertaining.  Of course.  But to be good for a club there has to be something to DISCUSS. 

I have read many great books that I wouldn’t recommend for book clubs because there is nothing controversial about them.   They also have to be “finishable”.  Most people can’t read more than a 300 page book in a month.  Life just gets in the way.

The book I have been recommending is “Loving Frank” by Nancy Horan.  It has something for everyone.  A love story, some historical fiction, a great plot and a crazy ending.  Almost everyone that reads the book googles Frank Lloyd Wright and his mistress Mamie Borthwick to find out if it REALLY happened.

Did I say “mistress”?  Why yes, and here comes the conflict.  The biggest question for discussion in this book is how society has changed in our collective perspective of divorce.  In the early 1900’s it was a much different ballgame for Frank and Mamie than it is today for people like Angelina and Brad.

And then there’s the even tougher question.  What if you are like Mamie and married to the predictible but boring Edwin and you meet the love of your life, the exciting Frank?  Of course this really happens to people all the time and it is interesting to see how people feel about the question of true love versus commitment.

Of course there are no “right” answers to such general questions.  Life is full of twists and turns and shades of gray.  That’s what makes this such a great book club book.  ENJOY!

About Anne Loughrey

I am an avid member of several book clubs and a prolific keeper of my books. I love to discuss books and hear what others think of books I have read.
This entry was posted in Book clubs, Unbroken, Louis Zamperini, Laura Hillenbrand. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Best “First Book Club Book”

  1. Kim Jeter says:

    I think I will pick Loving Frank as my next book club pick, Anne. It sounds good. Welcome to the world of blogging. I am proud of you!! Keep up the good work. You are Carrie Bradshaw!!

  2. molly andersen says:

    I agree Anne, this was a great start for a book club. Everyone loved it and I learned a lot about Frank Llyod Wright’s architecture as well!

  3. molly andersen says:

    I agree Anne, it is a great book to start a book club or read if you are already in one. Lots of drama and I also learned a lot about Frank Lloyd Wright’s architecture!

  4. Becki says:

    Great job, Anne! Love this!

  5. Shelly says:

    Boz – the book club blog has begun – well, it’s about time! Love your first post – can’t wait to read more! And I WILL recommend Loving Frank for my next book club discussion (after several years, we haven’t read it yet!) Keep on writin’!

  6. Keri Chumbley says:

    Anne – I am so excited that you started this blog. I am always looking for book recommendations and know that you are very thoughtful about what you read. And…..I haven’t read Loving Frank yet so now I have something on my list. Thanks for sharing your passion with us!!

  7. Shel and Keri, I am excited to know that you may be reading this one. You won’t be disappointed. I just started “the Paris wife”. It’s historical fiction about Ernest Hemmingway’s wife and got an intro from the author of this book. I can’t wait to really get into it. There’s nothing like a good page turner!

Leave a Reply

